Mr. Williams.jpg

Theartrice ( T ) Williams
Interim Executive Director

Williams served as Executive Director at Phyllis Wheatley Community Center (PWCC) from 1965-1972. During his first term at (PWCC) Williams worked with a group of Minneapolis top corporate executives to create the Minneapolis Urban Coalition following the 1967 street violence on Plymouth Avenue. He returned as Interim Executive Director December 4, 2017.

Williams will assist the organization through this transition period with executive leadership and a search for a permanent Executive Director. During his time away he served as Minnesota and the nation’s first Corrections Ombudsman; Minneapolis Director of Public Housing; Senior Fellow at the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota; Senior Research Associate at Rainbow Research; elected member of Minneapolis School Board; Interim Executive Director Operation De Novo.

Williams’ recognitions and awards include The Bush Foundation Leadership Fellows award; Outstanding Achievement Award, Minnesota Chapter National Association of Social Workers; Outstanding Service in Criminal Justice Award, National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice; Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota Service Award, Outstanding Alumni Award University of Pennsylvania School of Social Work.

Williams holds a B.A. degree from the University of Illinois; M.S.W. from the University of Pennsylvania; graduate work at the University of Illinois, University of Chicago, DePaul University Law School and Northwestern University. 

Read about Williams' experience at Phyllis Wheatley through the years here.


Makeeva Brown, Starfish Preschool Room, 612-374-4342

Debra Bushrod, Victim Services Advocate, 612-374-4342

Jimelle Duncan, Finance Director

Marwok Gure, In Class Case Manager, 612-977-3252

Willie Johnson, Angelfish Toddler Room, 612-977-3244

Lucius Luther, The Wayne Hunter Stronger Together Men's Program Coordinator

 Pam Moore, Early Childhood Services Director, 612-977-3259

Marcia Pelham, Community Customer Care Specialist, 612-374-4342

Valerie Stevenson, Youth Services Director, 612-977-3253

Veronica Walker, Teaching Sub/Help Assistant, 612-977-3255

Jayme Williams, Angelfish Toddler Room, 612-977-3244

Mr. Theartrice “T” Williams, Interim Executive Director, 612-977-3241



Mr Byron Jackson

Dr Jan Tyson Roberts,
Ph.D., LP

Ms Lori-Ann C. Jones ESQ

Dr Rosilyn Carroll

Mr Fred Easter


Freddie Davis-English

Ms Karen Starr

Mr Steven Spencer